Florida Registered Nurses (RN) are set to complete their renewal requirements in time for their renewal deadline this 2021. With the deadline so close, Florida RNs are rushing to find their renewal requirements and meet them on time. With so many courses required by the Florida Board of Nursing, it’s easy to feel overwhelmed with continuing education!
Don’t fret! Here is all you need to know about Florida RN renewal requirements:
When do I renew my license?
Florida RNs are grouped by the Florida Board of Nursing into three, each with a different license renewal deadline:
- Group 1 – Licenses expire at midnight (EST), on April 30, 2022
- Group 2 – Licenses expire at midnight (EST), on July 31, 2020
- Group 3 – Licenses expire at midnight (EST), on April 30, 2021
Not sure about which group you belong to? Check your license! If it’s already been 2 years since your last renewal, you’re set to require this year!
What do I need to renew my license?
The Florida Board of Nursing only requires three things from registered nurses for their license renewal. These requirements are:
- Completed CE requirements, as reported to CE Broker
- Completed renewal application
- Payment of required fees
Licensees who fail to meet these requirements are required to reapply for licensure and comply with current laws and rules. Licensees who have become Null and Void or elected to Voluntarily Relinquish their RN license must reapply for licensure and meet current requirements.
How much do I need to pay to renew my license?
If you renew your active license before your license expires, you will only need to pay $75 for your license renewal. However, if you renew after your license expiration, you have to pay almost double that amount at $130.
Make sure to renew your license on time to avoid incurring unnecessary fees!
How do I renew my license?
Florida RNs can renew their license in 4 easy steps online! Follow these steps to renew your license online:
- Go to https://www.flhealthsource.gov/ and click the “Renew a License” button.
- Enter your Personal Identifying Information, then click the Login button.
- Confirm or update your MQA Services Account email address, then click the “Continue” button.
- You will be directed to the Dashboard. Click the “Renew my License” button.
Take note that the “Renew my License” button only shows up 90 days before your license expiration date. If you don’t see the button on your dashboard, please check back at a later date.
How do I pay my renewal fees?
You may renew online if you have a credit or debit card to complete the transaction. If you don’t want to pay online, you can still renew your license online. You just need to print a copy of your application summary and mail it with your check or money order to the following address:
Division of Medical Quality Assurance
P.O. Box 6320
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6320
What are my CE requirements for renewal?
Part of the Florida RN renewal requirements is the completion of 24 hours of appropriate continuing education every two years. These 24 hours of CEUs include:
- 16 general hours
- 2 hours related to medical error prevention
- 2 hours on Florida nursing laws and rules
- 2 hours on human trafficking
- 2 hours on recognizing impairment in the workplace, completed every other renewal
- 2 hours on domestic violence, completed every third renewal
- 1 hour on HIV/AIDS, as a one-time requirement before your first renewal
All requirements can be taken online!
Where do I find all my CE requirements?
For many nurses, it’s confusing to figure out what their exact CE requirements are. It’s especially the case in Florida when there are different requirements set for every renewal. Some nurses also fall short of their continuing education requirements because they forgot to take the right CE course for their renewal year.
We understand this dilemma at AchieveCE. We don’t want Florida nurses to miss out on their renewal deadline just because they didn’t take the right courses for their CE. That’s why we have assembled the Florida Registered Nurse CE Package.
This package contains all topics and courses that you will need to meet the continuing education requirements for license renewal! For a very low price of $27, you get 30 contact hours of CE – all approved by the Florida Board of Nursing!
Save time and money today and check out our Florida Registered Nurse CE Package!